A synagogue is a Jewish house of worship. A synagogue, sometimes called a temple or a shul, is for Jews what a church is for Christians, or a mosque for Muslims, or a temple for Hindus. The word comes from the Greek roots sun "together" and agein "bring" — it's a building where worshipers are brought together.


Synagogue buildings on this website

Chassidic Synagogue: 1931. Johannesburg, Gauteng
Chassidic Synagogue, New: 1963. Yeoville, Johannesburg, Gauteng
Great Synagogue: 1912-1914. Johannesburg, Gauteng
Great Synagogue: 1903. Central, Cape Town, Western Cape
Green and Sea Point Shul: 1931. Sea Point, Cape Town, Western Cape
Jeppe Synagogue, the Oval: c1927. Johannesburg, Gauteng
Lion Synagogue: 1905. Doornfontein, Johannesburg, Gauteng
Marais Road Shul: 1931. Sea Point, Cape Town, Western Cape
Memorial Road Synagogue: 1901. Kimberley, Northern Cape
Oxford Synagogue: pre 1964. Johannesburg, Gauteng
Parkview, Greenside and District Synagogue: 1946. Johannesburg, Gauteng
Plan for synagogue, not built: 1911. Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
Ponovez synagogue: 1931. Johannesburg, Gauteng
Poswohl Synagogue (Lithuanian): 1921. Johannesburg, Gauteng
Progressive Jewish Temple: 1965. Bloemfontein, Free State
Roeland Street Synagogue: c1907. Central, Cape Town, Western Cape
Round Shul: 1949-1952. Gardens, Cape Town, Western Cape
Schoonder Street Shul: 1949-1952. Gardens, Cape Town, Western Cape
Synagogue: n.d.. Colesberg, Northern Cape
Synagogue: 1924. Rustenburg, North West
Synagogue: 1916. Turffontein, Johannesburg, Gauteng
Synagogue: 1930. Johannesburg, Gauteng
Synagogue: 1913. Makhanda (Grahamstown), Eastern Cape
Synagogue: 1903. Kroonstad, Free State
Synagogue: c1938. Vredehoek, Cape Town, Western Cape
Synagogue: c1913. Ladismith, Western Cape
Synagogue: 1888. Johannesburg, Gauteng
Synagogue: 1907. Willowmore, Eastern Cape
Synagogue: pre-1912. Brandfort, Free State
Synagogue: 1922. Yeoville, Johannesburg, Gauteng
Synagogue: 1911. Richmond Hill, Gqeberha (Port Elizabeth), Eastern Cape
Synagogue: 1924. Muizenberg, Western Cape
Synagogue: 1925. Piketberg, Western Cape
Synagogue: 1949-1952. Gardens, Cape Town, Western Cape
Synagogue: 1911. Malmesbury, Western Cape
Synagogue : n.d.. Upington, Northern Cape
Synagogue: 1931. Sea Point, Cape Town, Western Cape
Synagogue: 1928. Mayfair, Johannesburg, Gauteng
Synagogue: 1897. Central, Tshwane (Pretoria), Gauteng
Synagogue: 1929. Rosettenville, Johannesburg, Gauteng
Synagogue: 1932. Benoni, Gauteng
Synagogue: 1903. Krugersdorp, Gauteng
Synagogue: 1940. Fordsburg, Gauteng
Synagogue: 1886. Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
Synagogue: 1923. Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Synagogue: 1888-1889. Johannesburg, Gauteng
Synagogue: n.d.. Kariega (Uitenhage), Eastern Cape
Synagogue: pre 1924. Brakpan, Gauteng
Synagogue: 1912. Bloemfontein, Free State
Synagogue: 1905. Fordsburg, Johannesburg, Gauteng
Synagogue: 1903. Germiston, Gauteng
Synagogue: 1903. Jeppestown, Johannesburg, Gauteng
Synagogue: pre-1906. Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
Synagogue: 1876. Gqeberha (Port Elizabeth), Eastern Cape
Synagogue: 1926. Bertrams, Johannesburg, Gauteng
Synagogue: 1920. Potchefstroom, North West
Synagogue - Calvinia Museum: 1920. Calvinia, Northern Cape
Synagogue - Chatham House: n.d.. Glendinningvale, Gqeberha (Port Elizabeth), Eastern Cape
Synagogue - First: 1908. Benoni, Gauteng
Synagogue - First: 1921. Berea, Johannesburg, Gauteng
Synagogue - First: 1908. Springs, Gauteng
Synagogue - First: 1862. Central, Cape Town, Western Cape
Synagogue - New Apostolic Church: 1921. Wellington, Western Cape
Synagogue - Now Museum: 1929. Springbok, Northern Cape
Synagogue - Second: 1926/7. Jeppestown, Johannesburg, Gauteng
Synagogue - Second: 1951. Springs, Gauteng
Synagogue - Second: 1930. Germiston, Gauteng
Synagogue - Third: n.d.. Benoni, Gauteng
Synagogue, Adath Israel Congregation: 1936. Tshwane (Pretoria), Gauteng
Synagogue, Beth Hamedrash: 1912. Johannesburg, Gauteng
Synagogue, End St: 1906. Johannesburg, Gauteng
Synagogue, Great: 1903. Central, Cape Town, Western Cape
Synagogue, reconstruction of interior of old synagogue: 1895. Johannesburg, Gauteng
Synagogue, Roeland Street: c1907. Central, Cape Town, Western Cape
Synagogue, submitted a plan: 1903. Johannesburg, Gauteng
Synagogue,add: 1924. Tshwane (Pretoria), Gauteng
Talmud Torah Synagogue,alt: 1918. Doornfontein, Johannesburg, Gauteng
Temple Israel: 1936. Johannesburg, Gauteng
Temple Israel: 1955. Gqeberha (Port Elizabeth), Eastern Cape