Krugersdorp, Gauteng

Founded: 1887

Named after President Paul Kruger.


Click to view large map

List of references:

Dugmore, CF. 2008. The making of Krugersdorp, 1887-1923. Johannesburg: University of the Witwatersrand: Unpublished thesis. pp All
Greig, Doreen. 1971. A Guide to Architecture in South Africa. Cape Town: Howard Timmins. pp 166-167
Maeder, GA & Zinn, C. 1917. Ons kerk album van Hollandsche kerken en leeraren. Capetown: Cape Times. pp 240-241
Oberholster, JJ. 1972. The historical monuments of South Africa. Cape Town: Rembrandt Van Rijn Foundation for Culture at the request of the National Monuments Council. pp 297-298
Picton-Seymour, Désirée. 1989. Historical Buildings in South Africa. Cape Town: Struikhof Publishers. pp 178-179
Richardson, Deirdré. 2001. Historic Sites of South Africa. Cape Town: Struik Publishers. pp 203-204

List of structures:

Afrikaans Medium School: 1932.
Apostoliese Geloofsending (AGS) Kerk: 1959.
Bronkhorst House: c1840. Boekenhoutfontein,
Carnegie Library: 1917.
Cinema, Krugersdorp: 1939.
Cinema, Shops etc for Mahalah Bldg Prop Ltd: 1928.
Civic Centre: 1981.
Court House: 1890.
Dadoo Ltd: 1939.
Department of Home Affairs: n.d..
Die Herberg Hotel: n.d..
Fort Harlech: c1900.
Gereformeerde Kerk: 1956. North,
Greyhound Building: n.d..
Health & Racquet Club: 1993.
Hospital: 1934.
Hospital adds, Krugersdorp: n.d..
Hotel for S Seimon: 1937.
House JH Grové: 1962.
JG Strijdom Square at City Hall: 1970s?.
Kilmarnoch House: pre 1897.
Kromdraai Valley Farm: 2003.
Kruger House - First - Museum: 1862. Boekenhoutfontein,
Krugersdorp Club: c1888.
Methodist Church: 1910.
Monaghan Farm Staff Housing: 2008.
Monaghan Prototype House: 2006.
Nederduitsch Hervormde Kerk: 1935.
Nederduitse Gereformeerde Kerk: 1848.
Nederduitse Gereformeerde Kerk - Noord: 1946.
Nederduitse Gereformeerde Kerk - Wes Suiderlig - First: 1926.
Nederduitse Gereformeerde Kerk - Wes Suiderlig - Second: 1950.
Nederduitse Gereformeerde Kerk and orphanage: 1939.
NGK Noord Saal - Hall: 1962.
NZASM Rand Tram Railway Station: 1896.
NZASM Rand Tram Semi-detached houses: n.d..
NZASM South-Western Line: 1895-1899.
Old Mutual: n.d..
Olivanna Chambers: 1935.
Orphanage for Order of the Buffaloes: n.d..
Paardekraal Monument: 1891.
Pastorie: 1970.
Paul Kruger Hall: 1936.
Pioneer Bldgs: pre-1906.
Police Barracks and Stables: 1897.
Post Office: c1938.
Prison: c1907.
Springfarm Game Lodge: 1990.
St Peter's Anglican Church: 1903.
Stirling Bldgs, alt, add: 1936.
Studio House at Kromdraai: 2008.
Synagogue: 1903.
Technical College: 1930.
Town Hall - Civic Centre: 1907 : 1981-84/86.
Ursuline Convent: 1928.
Victoria Hotel: 1939.
Volkskas Bank - now ABSA: 1959.
War Memorial: 1922.
West Rand Consolidated Mines School: 1950s. West Rand,