Durbanville, Western Cape

Named after Sir Benjamin D'Urban, Governor of the Cape from 1834 – 1838.


Click to view large map

With its fresh water springs, Durbanville originated as an outspan for travellers from Cape Town to the north. It was called Pampoenkraal. In 1836 it was renamed D'Urban after Sir Benjamin D'Urban, Governor of the Cape from 1834 – 1838. In 1886 the name was changed to Durbanville to avoid confusion with the port city of Durban.

List of references:

Du Plessis, Niel M . 1998. The Tygerberg: The story of the Tygerberg Hills and the towns of Parow, Bellville, and Durbanville. Cape Town: Tafelberg Publishers. pp
Fransen, Hans. 2004. The old buildings of the Cape. A survey of extant architecture from before c1910 in the area of Cape Town - Calvinia - Colesberg - Uitenhage. Johannesburg & Cape Town: Jonathan Ball Publishers. pp 314-316, Paardeberg 316-318
Maeder, GA & Zinn, C. 1917. Ons kerk album van Hollandsche kerken en leeraren. Capetown: Cape Times. pp 55

List of structures:

All Saints Anglican Chapel: c1850.
House Conradie: 1960s.
House Liebreich: 1945.
House Meiring: c1960.
House Neethling: 1983.
House Schoonees: 1971.
House van Niekerk: c1960.
Nederduitse Gereformeerde Kerk: 1826 : 1890-1891.
Onze Molen, Windmeul (Windmill): pre 1848.
Police Station: n.d..
Presbyterian Church: 1972.
Public School: 1936. Lichtenburg,
SAFT Offices and Storage: 2019. Atlantic Hills,
Town Hall: 1906.
Town Hall (Proposal): 1920.
Willow Bridge Lifestyle Centre: 2008.