Aberdeen, Eastern Cape

Founded: 1855

Named after the birthplace in Scotland of the Dutch Reformed minister Reverend Andrew Murray.


Click to view large map

The town became a municipality in 1858.

List of structures:

Anglican church: n.d..
Magistrate's Court and Post Office: 1898.
Market Hall: 1897.
Nederduitse Gereformeerde Kerk: 1864 : 1908.
Public School: 1912.
Wesleyan Methodist Church: 1882.