Union Style


Once the colonies entered into Union (1910) South Africa became part of the Imperial realm. Much of the work done (the Union Buildings being prime example) was part of the project to express South Africa as being part of a greater whole, that of the Empire. The style usually goes by the term of Imperial Style in the other British colonies. (See 'Baker School')

Buildings on this website in Union Style style

Kwa Muhle Museum: 1927. Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
Pretoria Academic Hospital, Administration: n.d.. Tshwane (Pretoria), Gauteng