National Heritage Resources Act (NHRA), No 25 of 1999


The National Heritage Resources Act, No 25 of 1999 replaced the National Monuments Act, No 28 of 1969 enacted the establishment of the South African Heritage Resources Agency (SAHRA) as a statutory national administrative body responsible for the protection of South Africa's cultural heritage. This replaced the National Monuments Council.

The act requires that many aspects of built environment have a Heritage Impact Assessment conducted.