Commonwealth War Graves Commission


The Commonwealth War Graves Commission (CWGC) is an intergovernmental organization of six independent member states whose principal function is to mark, record and maintain the graves and places of commemoration of Commonwealth of Nations military service members who died in the two World Wars. The Commission is also responsible for commemorating Commonwealth civilians who died as a result of enemy action during the Second World War. The Commission was founded by Fabian Ware and constituted through Royal Charter in 1917 named the Imperial War Graves Commission. The change to the present name took place in 1960.


People on this website involved with the War Graves Commission:
BAKER, Sir Herbert
LEITH, George Esselmont Gordon

See also:
Commonwealth War Graves Commission website
Remembrance Day