Congress of the People


The Congress of the People met in Kliptown, Soweto, Johannesburg on June 26, 1955 to lay out the vision of the South African people. The Freedom Charter was the core statement of principles of the Congress Alliance, consisting of the African National Congress (ANC), the South African Indian Congress, the Coloured People's Congress, the South African Communist Party (SACP), and the Congress of Democrats. The Freedom Charter became the manifesto of the African National Congress and the South African liberation struggle against apartheid.