George Walker's Cottage
This is one of the oldest buildings on the Witwatersrand. George Walker's cottage (now in Constantia Kloof, Strubens Valley area) was built by George Walker for the Struben brothers in 1885, to replace their tent next to their stamp mill, where they were trying to recover gold from their Confidence Reef mine. The remains are surprisingly well built for a man who was a known alcoholic. Walker's friend George Harrison went on to discover the Main Reef series on Langlaagte in 1886.
All truncated references not fully cited below are those of Joanna Walker's original text and cited in full in the 'Bibliography' entry of the Lexicon.