ZAR Road Bridge over the Apies River, 'Arcadia' Bridge
Sytze Wopkes WIERDA: Design Architect
Sytze Wopkes WIERDA: Project Architect
John Johnston KIRKNESS: Contractor
Built as part of an identical structure for the Jacob Maré Street Bridge, being constructed of locally quarried stone sub-structure with central pier, having a steel super-structure each spanning 6m and 3m wide
Erected where the Meintjiesdrif crossed the Apies River, now where the Lion Bridge stands. It was located on the farm of AF du Toit, Arcadia' hence the name. Soon after its completion floods of February 1890 damaged the eastern buttress, followed by damage to the western buttress in October of the same year. This elicited sharp criticism in the local press. Wierda, in his annual report, retorted that he had not enough experience of local circumstances ''omtrent het kracht van het water in zul sen betrekkelijk gering riviertje'' (regarding the force of water in such a slight stream''. He further reported that ''deze kleine brug sal voortdurend aanleiding tot moeilijkheden opleveren'' (this small bridge will be subject to continual problems''. It was demolished in 1894 and replaced.
All truncated references not fully cited below are those of Joanna Walker's original text and cited in full in the 'Bibliography' entry of the Lexicon.
Writings about this entry