Mbombela (Nelspruit), Mpumalanga

Founded: 1892

Named after the owners of the original farm, the three brothers Nel, it means 'Nels' stream'.


Click to view large map

In October 2009, the South African government renamed the city "Mbombela", the same name as the local municipality of which it is part. The Lowveld Chamber of Business and Tourism (LCBT) approached the High Court of South Africa as a result of this name change. According to LCBT, members of the public were not consulted before the name change took place. In May 2014, the North Gauteng High Court approved the name change and decided that the name Mbombela stays.


List of references:

Bakker, Karel A, Clarke, Nicholas J & Fisher, Roger C. 2014. Eclectic ZA Wilhelmiens : A shared Dutch built heritage in South Africa. Pretoria: Visual Books. pp 133
Joubert, 'Ora (Ed). 2009. 10 years + 100 buildings : Architecture in a Democratic South Africa. Cape Town: Bell-Roberts Publishing. pp Sonheuwel 50-53
Richardson, Deidré. 2001. Historic Sites of South Africa. Cape Town: Struik Publishers. pp 255

List of structures:

Botanical Gardens Entrance and Restaurant: n.d..
Botanical Gardens Pedestrian Bridge: n.d..
Buscor Bus Terminal: 2009. Central,
Cecilia Architects Offices: 2008.
Crocodile River Rail Bridge: n.d..
Crocodile River Road Bridge: 1903.
Ehmke Street Offices: 2003.
Francolin Lodge & Orange Restaurant: 2007.
House at Laroi: 2008. district
House CVDM Trust: 2010?.
House for green journalist: 2002.
House Lombard: 2006. district
House Millar: 2006.
House PHJ van Rensburg: 1967.
House van der Leek: 2008. district
Huis van Rensburg: 1996.
Interior project: Shandon Estate Residence 2: 2009. Shandon Estate,
Interior Project: Shandon Estate Residence 3: 2006. Shandon Estate,
Kruger Mpumalanga International Airport: n.d..
L House Shandon: 2010.
Lutheran Church: 1950s.
Mbombela Stadium: 2010.
Mc Adam Street Offices: 2009. Ext. 12,
Methodist Church: 1971.
Miller Street Residence: 2007.
Mpumalanga Parks Board: 1998.
Mpumalanga Provincial Government Complex: 1999.
National Bank: 1927.
Nederduitse Gereformeerde Kerk: 1968.
Nederduitse Gereformeerde Kerk: 1954.
Nederduitse Gereformeerde Kerk: n.d..
Nederduitse Hervormde Kerk: 1963.
Nel Street Offices: 2009. Sonheuwel,
Nelspruit Private College: 2009.
NZASM Eastern Line Bridge over Karino Road: 1890. district
NZASM Eastern Line Bridge over the Nelspruit: 1890. district
NZASM Eastern Line Bridge west of Cairn Station: 1890. district
NZASM Eastern Line Bridge west of Krokodilpoort Station: 1890. district
NZASM Eastern Line Culvert Krokodilpoort: 1894-1896. district
NZASM Eastern Line Culvert west of Krokodilpoort Station: 1894-1896. district
NZASM Eastern Line Krokodilpoort Bridge 1: 1890. district
NZASM Eastern Line Krokodilpoort Bridge 2: 1890. district
NZASM Eastern Line Krokodilpoort Station: 1890-1894. district
Price Waterhouse Coopers: 2009.
SAPPI Ngodwana Paper Mill Office Block: n.d.. district
Shandon Estate Residence 1: 2008. Shandon Estate,
Shandon Estate Residence 4: 2006. Shandon Estate,
Standard Bank: n.d..
Uitsig Residence: 2005. Uitsig Estate, Sonheuwel,
Uitsig Residence 2: 2004. Uitsig Estate, Sonheuwel,
ZAR Road Bridge over the Crocodile River: c1897. district