Estcourt, KwaZulu-Natal

Founded: 1863

Named after Thomas Estcourt, a British member of parliament.

Click for larger map
Click on map for larger image

Originally called Bushman's River Post.

List of buildings:

Agricultural Hall: 1901.
Barclays Bank - Now First National: n.d..
Blockhouse, Fort Durnford: 1874.
Court House, now Standard Bank: 1887.
Fort Durnford: 1873.
Market house for the Estcourt Local Board: 1907.
Post Office: 1935 ?.
Proposed bldgs for Abdool Rahman (Fort Durnford Museum, plan): 1904 04.
Sanatorium: 1890.
Town Hall: 1931.
Voortrekker Monument: n.d..
Wesleyan Church: 1922.