Share this record

Roman Catholic Church in South Africa


The Roman Catholic Church in South Africa is part of the worldwide Roman Catholic Church, under the spiritual leadership of the Pope and curia in Rome. There are 26 dioceses and archdioceses, plus an apostolic vicariate.


As building type

A building designed for public worship by members of the Roman Catholic community. There are three types of churches, the smallest being a chapel which is often for private family use - or convents or monasteries. Then a church which is the place of worship for local congregations and cathedral which is the central church for a diocese and is presided over by a bishop.

List of structures of this type

with images
with notes

Catholic Church, pre-1908, Cullinan, Gauteng
Catholic Church, n.d., Darling, Western Cape
Catholic Church, 1923, Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
Catholic Church, pre-1906, Stamford Hill, Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
Catholic Church, pre-1908, Heidelberg, Gauteng
Catholic Church, 1881, Jagersfontein, Free State
Catholic Church, 1895, Pella, Northern Cape
Catholic Church - First, 1897, Johannesburg, Gauteng
Catholic Church - The Pink Church, 1935, Kokstad, KwaZulu-Natal
Catholic Church, Rosebank, 1935, Rosebank, Johannesburg, Gauteng
Catholic Church, Yeoville, 1934, Yeoville, Johannesburg, Gauteng
Catholic Co-Cathedral of St Augustine, 1941, Upington, Northern Cape
Catholic Mission Church, n.d., Balfour, Eastern Cape
Catholic Mission Church - Wedding Chapel, n.d., Vanrhynsdorp, Western Cape
Chapel, n.d., Estrade de Tundevala, Lubango, Angola
Chapel for the Christian Brothers, 1932, Kimberley, Northern Cape
Christ the King Catholic Church, 1968, Queenswood, Pretoria, Gauteng
Church for Bishop Jolivet, 1896, Mthatha (Umtata), Eastern Cape
Church of Our Lady of Fatima, 1951, Douglas, Northern Cape
Golden Jubilee Memorial Church, Mater Infirmorum, Izeli, 1927, King William's Town, Eastern Cape
Holy Cross Roman Catholic Church, n.d., McKays Nek Mission, Cala, Eastern Cape
Holy Trinity Catholic Church, 1930s ?, Musgrave, Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
Holy Trinity Catholic Church, Braamfontein, 1937, Braamfontein, Johannesburg, Gauteng
Our Lady of Loreto, n.d., Kempton Park, Gauteng
Regina Mundi, 1961-1962, Soweto, Gauteng
Regina Pacis Catholic Church, n.d., Ladysmith, KwaZulu-Natal
Sacred Heart Catholic Church, 1851, King William's Town, Eastern Cape
Sacred Heart Catholic Church, 1933, Polokwane (Pietersburg), Limpopo
Saint Joseph the Worker, 1969, Bosmont, Randburg, Gauteng
Saints Simon and Jude Catholic Church, n.d., Simonstown, Western Cape
Ss Peter and Paul Catholic Church, 1841, George, Western Cape
St Anthony's Catholic Church and presbytery, 1936, Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
St Boniface's Catholic Church, 1950, Knysna, Western Cape
St Clement's Roman Catholic Church, 1962, Grassy Park, Faure, Western Cape
St Columba's Catholic Church, n.d., Pretoria, Gauteng
St John's Catholic Church, n.d., Ventersdorp, North West
St Joseph Catholic Church, 1936, Modjadjiskloof (Duiwelskloof), Limpopo
St Joseph's Catholic Church, 1959, Pretoria, Gauteng
St Mary's Cathedral, 1840-51 : 1864 : 1951, Cape Town, Western Cape
St Mary's Catholic Church, pre-1879, Pietermaritzburg, KwaZulu-Natal
St Michael's Catholic Church, 1922, Ladybrand, Free State
St Patrick's Catholic Church, n.d., Kroonstad, Free State
St Patrick's Church, 1934, Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
St Paul's Catholic Church, 1952, Engcobo, Eastern Cape
St Pius X Catholic Church, n.d., Pretoria, Gauteng
St Saviour's Catholic Cathedral, 1967, Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
St Theresa Catholic Church, 1931, Camps Bay, Western Cape
St Thomas' Catholic Church, 1885 : 1935, Mossel Bay, Western Cape
Stella Maris Catholic Chapel, 1932, Herold's Bay, Western Cape

Contact Artefacts please if you have any comments or more information regarding this record.