Set well back from the street, almost down by the river, this picturesque house probably derives its equally quaint name ('Frogs' Passage') from this setting and from its long, narrow approach between the neighbours' lands to the river below. It stands on garden land that was part of the garden erf bought by Jacob de Bruyn in 1796. He sold it to PF Theron in 1809, whose son later built on this garden land: see no.25. It is not known when Paddagang was built, but in the 1861 photograph it is shown as a dwelling, evidently for two families, and already looks of considerable age. Perhaps it began its life as stables or slave-quarters. It is an elongated house consisting of one long row of rooms with irregular fenestration, and probably grew in several stages. In 1972/73 it was restored to its approximate 1861 appearance, with one half-hipped end, casements and a dormer gable, with early additions left (lean-to) and right (hipped).
[Fransen Hans, 2004. A guide to the old buildings of the Cape. Johannesburg & Cape Town: Jonathan Ball Publishers. p, 371.]
All truncated references not fully cited below are those of Joanna Walker's original text and cited in full in the 'Bibliography' entry of the Lexicon.