Nederduitse Gereformeerde Kerk
Click to view large map
|See more photographs|
The foundation stone was laid on n April 1890 by the rev. H.J. Neethling and on 14 April 1894 the church came into use. The building cost a total of £72,779 36s 3d. The pulpit, a replica of that in the Mother Church in Stellenbosch, was constructed by Palframan and De Roo from ordinary Kiaat donated by Abel Erasmus. In 1926 the descendants of the Voortrekker G.C. Schoeman donated a unique organ to the congregation.
The plot, on which this church and the Voortrekker Church stand, was declared a national monument in 1978.
[Information supplied by the Lydenburg Museum]
All truncated references not fully cited below are those of Joanna Walker's original text and cited in full in the 'Bibliography' entry of the Lexicon.
Writings about this entry