34°01'02.66" S 20°26'51.73" E Alt: 145m
Auld House. The land on which this house was built was granted to Johannes Wilhelm Paulsen in 1802. He built a T-shaped house on it. It was bought in 1826 by Joseph Barry, senior partner of the firm Barry & Nephews which, for more than half-a-century, dominated all trade in the Overberg region. In 1857 the house became the home of Barry's successor, his grand-nephew, John Joseph Barry - later a member of the Legislative Assembly. Later still, the house became the property of JJ Barry's son-in-law, GC Deneys Reid.
The house suffered from a fire in 1834. The fire affected the facade only, but Barry took the opportunity to enlarge the house by the addition of a row of rooms in front, with the extended voorkamer acting as a link and giving the house the shape of an H with a tail at the back, much like Meerlust. The new facade, with its eight-panelled door, low dormer gable and double-sliding sashes with slightly curved heads and both inner and outside louvred shutters, is a good example of the style of the 1830s. The end-gables are pedimented holbol, while that supporting the kitchen chimney is straight. John Joseph Barry added a room to the left wing in front. At the back, where the ground is sloping, the house is double-storeyed. Its interior, with most of its woodwork intact, is much like it was in die early 19th century.
A most interesting complex of outbuildings, two of them double-storeyed warehouses, others thatched, as well as some old chicken coops and some portions of old werf wall, forming a small courtyard directly behind the house, are a fascinating reminder of the Barry trade empire. The complex has been expertly restored.
Writings about this entry
Contact Artefacts please if you have any comments or more information regarding this record.